# Maine Educational Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Governor Baxter School for the Deaf School Board Meeting Record August 21, 2014

**Board Present:** Diane St. Lawrence (Chair), Joan Toy (Vice Chair), Laurel Kelly, Roxanne Baker, David Gaul, Fran Jacques, Don Miller, Frances Frost

# Board Excused: Jason White

Administration: David Sherry, John Jones, Karen Hopkins, Angie Bruno, Traci Drake

I. CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order at 4:15PM.

**II. ANNOUNCEMENTS:** Roxanne Baker provided information about a music video on Facebook created by the Deaf Film Camp in New York. The title is "Happy".

### III. ADJUSTMENTS TO THE AGENDA: none

#### IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS: none

**V. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT:** Key points of the Executive Director's Report were covered. This report is enclosed and filed in the Executive Director's office.

**VI. APPROVAL OF SCHOOL BOARD 2014-2015 CALENDAR:** Board members were asked to review the calendar for any additions/edits and send them to Diane St. Lawrence so that a final draft will be prepared in time for approval at the September 4 meeting.

**VII. APPROVAL OF STAFF RESIGNATIONS:** Joan Toy motioned to accept the resignation of Martin Keim, Cook III, with regret. Fran Jacques seconded.

Vote: 8 in favor 0 opposed

Joan Toy motioned to accept the resignation of Rachel Powers, Teacher of the Deaf – Portland High School, with regret. David Gaul seconded.

#### Vote: 8 in favor 0 opposed

Joan Toy motioned to accept the resignation of Amy Houran, Teacher of the Deaf at Lyman Moore Middle School, with regret. Don Miller seconded.

Vote: 8 in favor 0 opposed

**VIII. STAFF NOMINATIONS:** Joan Toy motioned to accept the nomination of Julie Neumann as an ECFS Consultant. Laurel Kelly seconded.

## Vote:8 in favor0 opposed

Joan Toy motioned to accept the nomination of Denise Adams as Teacher of the Deaf for Portland High School. Laurel Kelly seconded.

Vote:8 in favor0 opposed

Joan Toy motioned to accept the nomination of Shana Kelly-Cohen as the Behavior Strategist/Transition Specialist. Roxanne Baker seconded.

#### Vote: 8 in favor 0 opposed

The affirmative vote by the Board, supporting this candidate and the associated salary should not be considered precedence setting.

David Gaul motioned to accept the nomination of Tenille Reichert as Preschool Speech/Language Pathologist. Frances Frost seconded.

Vote:8 in favor0 opposedRoxanne Baker motioned to accept the nomination of Christy Callahan as<br/>Teacher of the Deaf – Lyman Moore Middle School.Laurel Kelly seconded.

Vote: 8 in favor 0 opposed

**IX. ADJOURNMENT:** Don Miller moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:24PM. Frances Frost seconded.

Vote:8 in favor0 opposed

The meeting was adjourned at 5:24PM.

## Board Approved: October 2, 2014